As a leading insurer in Hong Kong, HSBC Life is committed to relieve the burden of eldercare through public-private partnership. We have also developed an innovative supplementary benefit to improve Hongkonger’s financial futures, specifically to provide assistance to dementia patients and their caregivers.

Dementia has now become quite a common health issue for elderly people in Hong Kong. We now provide a new rider “Dementia Protection” as an optional supplementary benefit (“Supplementary Benefit”) of our EarlyIncome Annuity Plan (‘basic plan”) to help alleviate you or your designated dementia benefit recipient’s potential financial burden if the life insured is unfortunately diagnosed with severe dementia:

During the Accumulation Period - Your 100% premium paid to this benefit will be refunded to you. The Dementia Protection will cease after the refund of the premium.

During the Annuity Period - You or the Dementia Benefit Recipient will receive an additional 100% of Monthly Guaranteed Annuity Payment1 of the basic plan, subject to a maximum amount of HKD 30,000 / USD 3,750 per month per Life Insured, until the Life Insured passes away or reach age2 99 (whichever is earlier) regardless of how long the chosen annuity period is.

You can also assign your Dementia Benefit Recipient to receive the Monthly Annuity Payments1 of the basic plan as well. To do this, “Cash out” has to be selected as the payment option of the Monthly Annuity Payment1.

Note: The Dementia Protection is an optional supplementary benefit requiring additional premiums. It is not applicable to policies paid by aggregate premium and policies with 1-year accumulation period. It can only be enrolled together with the application for the basic plan by any life insured aged2 between 55 and 70 years. Please refer to the Policy Provisions of the Supplementary Benefit for detailed terms, conditions and exclusions.

 

Learn more

EarlyIncome Annuity Plan

Flexibility to meet your needs at various stages by receiving monthly annuity payments up to age 992 after a short accumulation period.

Apply the plan or its optional supplemental benefit Dementia Protection to enjoy up to 7% discount3 off the first year premium.

Underwritten by HSBC Life (International) Limited. T&Cs apply. Subject to credit risk of the Company. Early policy surrender may result in a loss.

What is dementia

Learn more about dementia’s syndromes, preventive tips, caretaking techniques and community support for dementia sufferers and their caretakers.

Endnotes:

  1. Monthly Annuity Payment means Monthly Guaranteed Annuity Payment which consists of Monthly Guaranteed Base Annuity and Monthly Guaranteed Additional Annuity plus Monthly Non-guaranteed Annuity Payment (if any).
  2. Age means the age of the Life Insured or the Policyholder where applicable at his/her next birthday.
  3. Discount offer is valid until 30 September 2019. Promotional terms and conditions apply. Please visit branch for details.

Dementia Protection is an optional Supplementary Benefit to the EarlyIncome Annuity Plan, both of which are underwritten by HSBC Life (International) Limited (“the Company” or “we” or “us”) and products of the Company but not of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited (referred to as “HSBC”). They are intended only for sale in the Hong Kong SAR. The company is authorised and regulated by the Insurance Authority (IA). HSBC is an insurance agent authorised by the Company.

Your benefit is subject to the credit risk of the Company. Your premiums paid will form part of the Company's assets. You do not have any rights or ownership over any of those assets. Your recourse is against the Company only. If the policyholder discontinues and / or surrenders the insurance plan in the early policy years, the amount of the benefit he / she will get back may be considerably less than the amount of the premium he / she has paid. Past, current, projected and / or potential benefits and / or returns (e.g. bonuses, dividends and interest) presented herein are not guaranteed and are for illustrative purposes only. The actual future amounts of benefits and / or returns may be lower than or higher than the currently quoted benefits and / or returns. Please refer to the respective product brochure for detailed features and the Policy Provisions for the detailed terms and conditions.

For monetary disputes arising between HSBC and you out of the selling process or processing of the related transaction, HSBC will enter into a Financial Dispute Resolution Scheme process with you; however any dispute over the contractual terms of the product should be resolved between the Company and you directly.

HSBC Life (International) Limited – incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability

Dementia has now become a very common health issue for elderly people in Hong Kong, with prevalence rates of dementia estimated to be at 5%-8% among persons aged over 65, and at 20%-30% among those aged over 801. The number of people suffering from dementia is also estimated to increase more than double in 20 years’ time2.

HSBC Life is committed to raise awareness of early dementia screening so as to mitigate the impact of dementia on both patients and their caregivers.

We are the first insurer in Hong Kong to collaborate with Hong Kong Lutheran Social Service (HKLSS) in providing dementia risk screening service, powered by the “Automatic Retinal Image Analysis – Assessment on the Risk of Cognitive impairment” (“ARIA”). We are also sponsoring sensory toys for elderly people, which will be placed in HKLSS elderly centers to support the community.

 

Learn more about our support

ARIA (Automatic Retinal Image Analysis- Risk Assessment) Sponsorship

A home-grown Hong Kong innovation, ARIA is a cognitive health risk assessment approach for people with no cognitive impairment. The test could provide results similar to vascular dementia detection conducted by brain MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) but in a cheaper and faster manner. The entire screening3 process takes around 15 minutes during which retinal images will be taken for both eyes and uploaded to a central data processing system4 to give a risk index projection.

HSBC Life fully supports mass screening via ARIA risk assessments and will sponsor ARIA machines. HKLSS estimates that 2,500 - 3,000 people will be benefited each year.

Elderly Toys Sponsorship

Interactive toys and games are effective in preventing further deterioration of dementia. Hence, HSBC Life is also sponsoring 1,000 sensory toys for the elderly to be placed in five HKLSS elderly centers, and to the needy families which have to take care of dementia patients. These toys are designed to provide cognitive exercises for adults with a view to helping them keep their minds sharp and alert while reducing the risk of having age-related dementia.

How can we help customers on health preventive measure?

  • Free ARIA screening test – existing HSBC Life customers5 aged 60 or above who have purchased HSBC Life’s designated life protection plan(s)6 will receive a free ARIA risk of cognitive health screening test, which is transferrable to their family members or friends.
  • Free clinical assessment for dementia – for those who are diagnosed as high cognitive health risk individuals, they can receive a further free clinical assessment for dementia – Montreal Cognitive Assessment (MoCA) /Mini-Mental Status Examination (MMSE)7 – which will be carried out by neurologists. The tests can help further assess the risk of cognitive impairment development in order to take appropriate preventive measures and provide treatment as early as possible.
  • HSBC Life Eldercare Hotline – a dedicated hotline has been set up for customers to answer queries on elderly health issues, and general queries on the community support.

Useful link

Hong Kong Lutheran Social Services

Established in 1977, Hong Kong Lutheran Social Service has 40 centres in Hong Kong offering a wide range of community care services for people with different needs, including home and day care centres for the elderly.

Learn More

Footnotes

  1. Source: Research Office Information Services Division Legislative Council Secretariat February 2017: Care services for elderly persons with dementia
  2. Number of people suffering from dementia is expected to increase from 115,000 in 2016 to around 240,000 in 2036. Source: CUHK Faculty of Medicine
  3. The whole process includes retina imaging and the analysis of the results.
  4. The central data processing system of the cognitive health check is operated and managed by Health View Bioanalytic Limited.
  5. Eligibility of the ARIA test offer: Existing life insurance policyholders aged 60 or above with at least one in-force policy of the designated life insurance protection plans on or before 31 May 2019, and who have opted in for direct marketing materials from HSBC Life by post.
  6. Designated life protection plans include HSBC Comprehensive Critical Illness Protection Plan, Lifestyle Wealth Protection Plus, WholeLife Protection Plan, Goal Access Universal Life Plan (Protection), Target Protection Plus, Term Protection Plan, Privileged Term Protection Plan, Mortgage Protection Plan, Jade / Jade Ultra Global Generations Universal Life, HSBC FamilyGoal Insurance Plan, HSBC Term Protector, Integrated Protection Plus, HSBC Cancer Term Protector, Salary Savings Protection Plan.
  7. If a customer is assessed as high risk in the cognitive health check, he/she will be referred to the neurology division of Pro-Wellness Health Group to take a free Mini-mind State Examination or Montreal Cognitive Assessment. The neurologist will examine whether he/she is suitable to take a free Mini-mind State Examination or Montreal Cognitive Assessment. The staff of the Service Centre will provide the registration form to the customer immediately. The customer can make an appointment for the Mini-mental State Examination or Montreal Cognitive Assessment via the hotline provided in the registration form or on the spot depending on his/her own conditions. Available while quota lasts.

Initiated by The Women’s Foundation and joined by Sau Po Centre on Ageing at The University of Hong Kong and HSBC Life who together share a common vision and mission of “Eldercare is our Life Time Promise”, the three organisations have come together to conduct a study on eldercare to understand and qualify the need and cost of eldercare in Hong Kong today and in just over 40 years’ time. The study aims to find out how many Hong Kong people are giving and receiving eldercare now and in the future, and the subsequent cost to society, employers and individuals.

Understand the cost of eldercare

Full Report

Download the full report of “Eldercare Hong Kong: The Projected Societal Cost of Eldercare in Hong Kong 2018 to 2060”.

Download Full Report (2MB)

Summary

View the highlights and key findings of the report.

Download Summary (2MB)

Useful links

The Women's Foundation

The Women’s Foundation exists to promote the full and equal participation of women and girls in all aspects of Hong Kong society, by engaging in research, programmes, education and advocacy to drive measurable change.

Learn More

Sau Po Centre on Ageing, The University of Hong Kong

Sau Po Centre on Ageing (“CoA”) at the University of Hong Kong is a leading research centre on gerontology in greater China and in the Asian Pacific region. The Centre has been playing a crucial role in shaping policy directions and best practice models for long-term care, mental health, aging in-place, family caregiving, meaningful aging, age-friendly community over the past decades.

Learn More

“Eldercare Hong Kong: The Projected Societal Cost of Eldercare in Hong Kong 2018 to 2060” is produced by

作为香港领先的保险公司之一,汇丰保险透过公私营机构合作致力减轻长者护理的负担。我们更提供创新的附加保障以改善港人的财务状况,特别为认知障碍症患者及其照顾者提供协助。

有见认知障碍症已成为香港长者很常见的健康问题,汇丰保险推出全新「认知障碍保障」,作为盈达年金计划(「基本计划」)的自选附加保障( 「附加保障」) 。假如受保人不幸被确诊患上严重认知障碍,你或你的认知障碍保障收益人可减轻潜在的财务负担:

于储蓄期 - 您已缴付至此保障之全数保费将退还给您。而认知障碍保障亦将会随即终止。

于年金期 - 你或你的认知障碍保障收益人将可收取额外100%基本计划之每月保证年金金额1,每位受保人可享之最高金额为每月港币30,000元或3,750美元直至受保人身故或年届99岁2(以较早者为准),不论已选择之任何年金期。

你亦可以指定你的认知障碍保障收益人以收取基本计划之每月年金金额1。每月年金金额1的支付方式必须为「现金提取」。

注:認知障礙保障為自選附加保障並須另繳額外保費,此附加保障并不适用于合计保费金额保单及一年储蓄期的保单。受保人年龄2须介乎为55至70岁之间,并须于投保基本计划时一并投保。有关详细条款及细则以及不保事项,请参阅附加保障之保单条款。

 

了解更多

盈达年金计划

灵活满足你不同阶段的需要。你可选择于较短的储蓄期后按月收取年金金额直到99岁2

投保计划或其自选附加保障认知障碍保障可享首年保费折扣高达7%3

由汇丰人寿保险(国际)有限公司所承保。须受条款及细则约束。受本公司信贷风险影响,早期退保或会招致损失。

甚么是认知障碍症

了解更多有关认知障碍症的征状、预防小贴士、照顾技巧及社区对认知障碍症患者及照顾者的援助。

尾注:

  1. 每月年金金额即每月保证年金金额加上每月非保证年金金额(如有),而其中的每月保证年金金额包括每月保证基本年金及每月保证额外年金。
  2. 年龄指受保人或保单持有人(视乎适用情况而定)于下一次生日的年龄。
  3. 折扣优惠至2019年9月30日并受推广条款及细则约束。请莅临分行了解详情。

认知障碍保障为盈达年金计划的一项自选附加保障。本附加保障及盈达年金计划均由汇丰人寿保险(国际)有限公司(「本公司」或「我们」)所承保,而且是本公司而非香港上海汇丰银行有限公司(简称「汇丰」)之产品,并只拟在香港特别行政区销售。本公司已获保监局授权经营,汇丰为本公司之授权保险代理商。

您的保单利益受本公司的信贷风险所影响。您支付的保费将成为本公司资产的一部分,您对任何该等资产均没有任何权利或拥有权。如追讨赔偿,您只可向本公司追索。若保单持有人于保单初期中止此计划及/或退保,其取回的收益金额可能远低于已缴付的保费。本文所列举的过往、现时、预计及/或潜在收益及/或回报(例如奖金、红利、利息等)并非保证和仅作说明用途。将来实际所得收益及/或回报,可能低于或高于现时列出的收益及/或回报。有关详尽产品特点,请参阅产品册子。有关详细条款及细则,请细阅保单规定。

就有关汇丰与您于销售过程或处理有关交易时引起的金钱纠纷,汇丰将与您把个案提交至金融纠纷调解计划;然而, 有关产品合同条款的任何纠纷,应直接由本公司与您共同解决。

汇丰人寿保险(国际)有限公司 - 注册成立于百慕达之有限公司

认知障碍症已成为香港长者很常见的健康问题 – 现时本港65岁以上人士患上认知障碍症占同龄总人口的比率估计为5%至8%,而80岁以上人士的患病比率则估计为20%至30%1,估计未来二十年内香港认知障碍症患者的数字亦会上升多于两倍2

汇丰保险承诺提高大众对及早检测认知障碍症的意识,减轻认知障碍症对患者及照顾者所带来的影响。

我们作为首家保险公司与香港路德会社会服务处合作, 提供「全自动视网膜图像分析 - 认知健康风险评估」(「视网膜分析」)进行认知健康风险检测。我们亦赞助为长者而设的认知训练玩具予路德会长者中心,以支援社区。

 

关于我们的支持

赞助全自动视网膜图像分析

视网膜分析为本港首创的认知健康风险评估方式,可为未有认知障碍症症状的人士评估患上认知障碍症的风险。此检测较脑部磁力共振扫描(Magnetic Resonance Imaging, 简称MRI)筛查血管性认知障碍症,提供相近的结果,而且较便宜和快捷。整个检测过程由拍摄至取得报告只需约15分钟3,透过拍摄双眼的视网膜眼底图像,并把图像上传到中央数据处理系统4,从而推算出风险指数。

汇丰保险全力支持以视网膜分析为大众进行筛查,将为路德会赞助一部视网膜分析仪器。路德会预计每年将会有2,500到3,000人受惠。

赞助认知训练玩具

互动游戏及玩具可有效预防认知障碍症继续恶化。汇丰保险赞助1,000件为长者而设的认知训练玩具予脑玩童俱乐部计划,玩具将摆放于五个路德会长者中心,以及赠送予需要照顾认知障碍症患者的家庭。透过玩具进行认知练习,可帮助长者保持头脑清晰及提高警觉性,同时减低患上认知障碍症的风险。

我们如何帮助客户减低健康风险

  • 免费视网膜图像分析检测-凡60岁或以上已购买汇丰保险的人寿保障计划6的现有客户5,将获得一项免费视网膜分析检测,该检测名额可转让予其亲朋好友。
  • 免费认知障碍症临床评估-如客户被诊断为高风险认知障碍症人士,或会被转介至脑神经专家进行进一步的免费认知障碍症临床评估 - 蒙特利尔认知评估(MoCA)/简短智能测验(MMSE)7。这些检查可进一步为客户评估患上认知障碍症的风险,以便尽早采取适当预防措施和治疗。
  • 汇丰保险耆代同行热线-设立专线解答客户有关长者健康的问题,或一般社区支援的查询。

有用连结

香港路德会社会服务处

香港路德会社会服务处于1977年成立,全港共有40间中心,为社会有不同需要的人士提供广泛的小区关爱服务,包括长者院舍及长者日间护理中心。

了解更多

附注:

  1. 数据源:立法会资料研究组,2017年2月 - 为认知障碍症长者提供的护理服务
  2. 关于香港认知障碍症患者的数字将由2016年的11万5千人大幅增加至2036年约24万人。数据源:香港中文大学医学院
  3. 整个测试过程包括视网膜成像和结果分析
  4. 认知健康检查的中央数据处理系统是由康讯生物分析有限公司运营和管理
  5. 合资格获得视网膜分析检测客户为:60岁或者以上,于2019年5月31日或之前持有至少一份属于指定计划6内仍然有效的人寿保障保单,并已选择接收由汇丰保险以邮递方式的直接促销资讯。
  6. 指定计划包括:汇安健危疾保障计划,财富乐全保,终身寿险计划,骏富保障万用寿险计划,目标储全保,定期寿险计划,尊尚定期寿险计划,乐安居供楼保障计划,翡翠 环球/翡翠尊尚环球世代万用寿险,汇盛人生保险计划,汇易保,汇全保,汇安易人寿癌症保,“乐绸缪”多保计划。
  7. 如果客户在认知健康检查中被评估为高风险人士,该客户将获得转介至心汇医疗集团旗下脑神经科专科进行免费简短智能测验或蒙特利尔认知评估乙次。心汇医疗集团旗下脑神经科专科医生将视乎该客户个人状况,判断该客户适合进行免费简短智能测验或蒙特利尔认知评估。服务中心职员会实时提供登记表格予该客户,客户可根据自身情况即场预约或透过登记表格上所提供的热线预约进行简短智能测验或蒙特利尔认知评估。名额有限。

本着「长者护理为终生承诺」的愿景和使命,由妇女基金会牵头,香港大学秀圃老年研究中心和汇丰保险携手进行了一项有关长者护理的研究,探讨目前和四十年后香港在长者护理方面的需要和成本。这项研究旨在了解现时及未来有多少香港人提供和接受长者护理,以及其对社会、雇主及个人的成本。

探讨长者护理的成本

完整报告

下载完整的「香港长者护理:2018至2060年香港长者护理的预计社会成本」报告。

下载完整报告 (3MB)

报告摘要

阅读「香港长者护理:2018至2060年香港长者护理的预计社会成本」的报告重点和主要研究结果。

下载报告摘要 (2MB)

有用连结

妇女基金会

妇女基金会一直致力透过研究、社区项目、教育及倡议,改善香港妇女及青少女的生活。并以突破性别陈规,提升女性决策者及领袖数目,及协助贫穷女性充权为发展焦点。

了解更多

香港大学秀圃老年研究中心

香港大学的秀圃老年研究中心是大中华区以至亚太区内首屈一指的老年病学研究中心。过去几十年来,中心在制定有关长期护理、心理健康、老龄化、家庭护理、有意义的晚年、长者友好型社区的政策方向和最佳实践模式方面,发挥了举足轻重的作用。

了解更多

「香港长者护理:2018至2060年香港长者护理的预计社会成本」报告编撰: