Special Benefits for Novel Coronavirus

At HSBC Life, we promise to help protect you and your family in times of need. Amid uncertainties, we understand family is what you value most. Concerning the Novel Coronavirus outbreak, we’re extending a complimentary special benefit to existing and new customers, as well as their partners and children. There are no limitations or special requirements on age or premium amount.

Summary of benefits

From 1 February 2020, if you hold any HSBC Life insurance policy, the life insured and his/her family2 will receive the following Complimentary Special Benefits, with cover guaranteed for a full year.

Benefit Benefit Description Benefit Coverage
Hospital
Cash Benefit
If the life insured or his/her family member is admitted to Hospital due to Novel Coronavirus upon the recommendation of a Registered Medical Practitioner, a daily hospital cash will be paid. Benefit amount
HKD1,000 per day
(up to 45 days)
Extended
Premium
Grace Period
If the life insured or his/her family member is diagnosed with Novel Coronavirus by a Registered Medical Practitioner, the grace period for all future premium covering the insured person due in the next 12 months will be extended to 180 days. 180-day
premium grace period

 

If you take out a new HSBC Life insurance policy between 1 February 2020 and 30 April 2020, the life insured and his/her family2 will also receive the following Complimentary Special Benefits in addition to the above benefits, with cover guaranteed for a full year.

Benefit Benefit Description Benefit Coverage
Diagnosis
Benefit
If the life insured or his/her family member is diagnosed with Novel Coronavirus by a Registered Medical Practitioner, we will provide a lump sum payment as Diagnosis Benefit. Benefit amount
HKD20,000
Death
Benefit
In the unfortunate event of the life insured or his/her family member passing away due to Novel Coronavirus, we will provide a lump sum payment as Death Benefit. Benefit amount
HKD180,000

 

View all HSBC Life Insurance products

FAQ

What products/policies are eligible for this special coverage?

All individual life insurance policies underwritten by HSBC Life are eligible for this Special Coverage. The policy must be in-force when a claim under this benefit is being made.

What are the claims procedures and claims evidence required?

A claim application form should be submitted to us along with relevant support documents such as attending physician’s diagnosis report, medical screening/test report, hospital payment receipt, proof of relationship. Simply call our Tele-Consultants at (852) 31280122 who will assist you in preparing your relevant claim request(s).

For the Hospital Cash Benefit, does it cover both suspicious and confirmed Novel Coronavirus cases? Would the benefit apply to persons under quarantine at the hospital?

The Hospital Cash Benefit will be payable provided that all the following key conditions are met. An acceptable case doesn’t necessarily have to be a confirmed case of nCoV.

  • The hospitalization is upon the recommendation of a Registered Medical Practitioner;
  • The insured person is recognized by the hospital as in-patient for at least 6 consecutive hours; and
  • The relevant hospital is an eligible hospital as specified in the T&C
What hospitals are eligible for the Hospital Cash Benefit? Does it cover private and public hospital? Does it cover overseas hospitals outside of HK?

Both private and public hospitals in HK or overseas are eligible as long as they satisfy the criteria of a “hospital” as defined in the T&C. For a hospital located in mainland China, it needs to be in the list of our “Designated Mainland China Hospital” or in the list of any other hospitals dedicated for treating Novel Coronavirus as announced by the government in mainland China from time to time.

For the extension of premium grace period to 180 days, will it end immediately upon the recovery from the sickness of Novel Coronavirus?

No, once the claim is approved, the 180 days’ extension shall be granted for the full period regardless of the insured’s recovery.

Policy documents

View Policy Brochure [PDF]

Terms & Conditions:

  1. “Novel Coronavirus” refers to the new strain of coronavirus currently named by the World Health Organization (WHO) as "2019-nCoV".
  2. “Family” refers to: (a) the life insured’s legal spouse or common-law partner, either of the opposite-sex or same-sex, and either living together or living apart in Hong Kong; and (b) the life insured’s children, either biological or adopted who is under 18 years of age. Age means the age at the person’s next birthday.
  3. “New policies” refers to HSBC Life’s life insurance policies which are applied between 1 February 2020 and 30 April 2020 (both dates inclusive). Applicable benefits for new policies as shown in the table above will be eective throughout the 1st policy year.
  4. “Existing policies” refers to HSBC Life’s in-force life insurance policies which were applied before 1 February 2020. Applicable benefits for existing policies shown in the table above will be eective throughout the period from 1 February 2020 to 31 January 2021.
  5. Each life insured covered by this complimentary special benefits will only be entitled to each of the above benefits once irrespective of the number of policies held with HSBC Life.
  6. “Registered Medical Practitioner” refers to any medical practitioner who is duly qualified and legally registered as such under the Medical Registration Ordinance of the Hong Kong SAR or any amendment thereto, or otherwise authorised and entitled to practise western medicine in any other country as accepted by us in accordance with the laws of that country and who is other than the life insured or the policyholder or a member of the life insured’s or the policyholder’s immediate family.
  7. For the entitlement of Hospital Cash Benefit, the life insured must be admitted into a Hospital as an in-patient for at least 6 consecutive hours. For diagnosis or hospitalisation which takes place in the Mainland China, it must be done in a Hospital on our “Designated Mainland China Hospital” list or any other hospitals dedicated for treating Novel Coronavirus as announced by the local government at the provincial level of the People’s Republic of China.
  8. “Hospital” shall mean an establishment recognised, constituted and registered as such under the laws of the territory in which that establishment recognised, constituted and registered as such under the laws of the territory in which that establishment is situated as a hospital for the care and treatment of sick and injured persons as paying bed patients, and which: (i) has facilities for diagnosis and major surgery, (ii) provides 24 hours a day nursing services by qualified and registered nurses, (iii) is under the supervision of a qualified and registered physician, and (iv) is not primarily a clinic, a place for alcoholics or drug addicts, a sanatorium, a nature care clinic, a health hydro, a nursing, rest or convalescent home or home for the aged or similar establishment.
  9. The insurance benefits offered under this complimentary special benefits are underwritten by HSBC Life (International) Limited, incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability. Such complimentary special benefits are the additional insurance benefits oered in addition to the existing benefits under the HSBC Life’s individual life insurance policies. The complimentary special benefits are available during the respective coverage periods for new and existing policies and shall cease to apply upon termination of the relevant insurance policies if it comes earlier.
  10. Exclusions – the benefits under this complimentary special benefits shall be excluded from a person who has confirmed or reasonably suspected to have contracted the Novel Coronavirus by a Registered Medical Practitioner (i) before 1 February 2020, (ii) the policy eective date of the insurance policy which qualifies for the benefits, or (iii) its reinstatement date (whichever is the latest).
  11. HSBC Life reserves the right to change any terms and conditions of this complimentary special benefits in its absolute discretion without any prior notice.

Issued by HSBC Life (International) Limited (incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability). HSBC Life is one of HSBC Group’s insurance underwriting subsidiaries
HSBC Life is authorised and regulated by the Insurance Authority of the Hong Kong SAR to carry on long-term insurance business in the Hong Kong SAR.
Policyholders are subject to the credit risk of HSBC life and early surrender loss.
Should you have any enquiry, please call HSBC Life Service Hotline at (852) 2583 8000.

針對新型冠狀病毒而設的特別保障

滙豐保險一直承諾與客戶攜手保障他們及其家人。在不明朗的環境下,我們明白您最關心家人的一切。關注新型冠狀病毒的疫情發展,我們為您新增一份特別保障,更伸延至受保人及其家人。這個特別保障無需額外保費,新保單或現有保單均可享有,進一步實現我們對您和您摯愛的承諾。

保障摘要

由2020年2月1日開始,如您持有任何滙豐保險的壽險保單,受保人及其家人2將獲享為期一年的免費新型冠狀病毒特別保障。

保障 內容 保障範圍
住院
現金保障
若受保人或其家人因新型冠狀病毒在註冊醫生之建議下入院, 將可獲每日住院現金賠償 保障金額
每日港幣1,000元
(最多達45日)
延長保費
寬限期
若受保人或其家人被註冊醫生確診感染新型冠狀病毒,未來12個月內到期保費之寬限期將延長至180日 180 日
保費寬限期

 

由2020年2月1日起至2020年4月30日,凡成功投保任何滙豐保險壽險計劃,除上述保障外,受保人及其家人2更可獲享以下為期一年的免費新型冠狀病毒特別保障。

保障 內容 保額範圍
診斷保障 若受保人或其家人被註冊醫生確診感染新型冠狀病毒,我們將支付一筆過現金作診斷保障之賠償。 保障金額
港幣20,000元
身故賠償 若受保人或其家人不幸因感染新型冠狀病毒而身故,我們將支付一筆過現金作身故賠償 保障金額
港幣180,000元

 

參閱所有滙豐保險壽險計劃

常見問題

是次特別保障適用於哪些產品/保單?

所有由匯豐人壽承保的人壽保險產品均可受惠於是次特別保障。 就是次特別保障申請索賠時,該保單於當時必須仍然生效。

索償時,需要什麼程序和證據?

請提交索償申請表及相關證明文件,例如主治醫師的診斷報告、醫療檢驗/測試報告、醫院付款收據、關係證明文件等。您可致電 (852) 31280122,我們的電話索償顧問將協助您準備有關申索。

對於住院現金保障,它是否涵蓋可疑及確診的新型冠狀病毒個案? 保障是否適用於在醫院被隔離的人士?

住院現金之賠償需滿足以下所有關鍵條件。並非一定是確診個案才可被接納作住院現金的索賠。

  • 根據註冊醫生的建議住院;
  • 受保人被醫院收納為住院病人達連續最少6小時;及
  • 相關醫院是條款及細則內指定的合格醫院
哪些醫院有資格獲得住院現金保障? 它涵蓋私立和公立醫院嗎? 它涵蓋香港以外的海外醫院嗎?

只要符合條款和細則內規定的“醫院”標準,香港和海外的私立或公立醫院均符合資格。就中國內地而言,則需於我們「指定中國內地醫院」名單內之醫院或當地政府不時公佈及指明作治理「新型冠狀病毒」的醫院方合資格。

延長保費寬限期之180日,會否在感染新型冠狀病毒康復後立即終止嗎?

不會,一旦索償獲得批准,無論是否已經康復,該180日的延期都將被全期批准。

保障詳情、條款及細則

查看產品冊子 [PDF]

條款及細則:

  1. 「新型冠狀病毒」指根據世界衛生組織定義為2019-nCoV病毒的新發現冠狀病毒。
  2. 「家人」指:(a)受保人的法定配偶或普通法夥伴(異性或同性;在香港一同居住或分開居住)和(b)受保人年齡十八周歲以下的子女。年齡指下一次生日的年齡。
  3. 「新保單」指於2020年2月1日至2020年4月30日(包括首尾兩日)期間投保之滙豐保險新保單。適用於上表所列之新保單保障的保障期為保單生效後的首個保單年度。
  4. 「現有保單」指於2020年2月1日前投保之有效滙豐保險保單。適用於上表所列之現有保單保障的保障期為2020年2月1日至2021年1月31日。
  5. 不論持有的滙豐保險的保單數目,在此特別保障下每名受保人於以上各項保障均只可獲一次賠償。
  6. 「註冊醫生」指任何根據香港特別行政區《醫生註冊條例》或任何修訂條例而註冊及獲確認有關專業的醫生,或在任何本公司接受的其他國家,根據當地法律獲授權執業的西醫,而該等醫生並非受保人或保單持有人本人或其直系親屬。
  7. 有關住院現金保障之賠償,受保人需被醫院接收為住院病人達連續最少六小時。如果受保人士於中國內地進行診斷及住院,則需於我們「指定中國內地醫院」名單內之醫院或由中華人民共和國省級政府公佈之「新型冠狀病毒」的定點醫院內確診及住院方可獲賠償。
  8. 「醫院」指按其所在地法律認可、成立及註冊,並設有收費病床來治療傷病的機構,它(i)須設有診斷及施行大型手術的設施;(ii)由合格註冊護士提供每日24小時的護理服務;(iii)由合格註冊醫生監管;及(iv)基本上不是診所、酗酒者或吸毒者的治療所、療養院、自然治療所、水療院、休養或復康院、老人院或類似機構。
  9. 此特別保障的保障項目由滙豐人壽保險(國際)有限公司(註冊成立於百慕達之有限公司)承保。此特別保障的所有保障項目屬現有滙豐人壽保險之個人壽險保單條款以外的額外保障。現有及新保單可於相關保障期間享有此特別保障。如有關保單在保障期滿前失效,此特別保障亦將失效。
  10. 不保事項-倘若受保人於(i)2020年2月1日、(ii)保單生效日或(iii)複效日(以最遲者為準)前已被註冊醫生確診或懷疑確診新型冠狀病毒,我們將不會作出任何賠償。
  11. 滙豐保險有權隨時更改本特別保障的條款及細則而毋須另行通知。如對本特別保障有任何爭議,滙豐保險將保留最終決定權。

由滙豐人壽保險(國際)有限公司(註冊成立於百慕達之有限公司)刊發。滙豐保險為滙豐集團旗下從事承保業務的附屬公司之一。滙豐保險獲保險業監管局(保監局)授權及受其監管,於香港特別行政區經營長期保險業務。保單持有人受滙豐保險信貸風險影響。早期退保或會招致損失。
如有任何疑問,請致電滙豐保險服務熱線(852)2583 8000查詢。