MPF info page

All-in-one products and services are trend-setters and popular among modern urbanites. They are particularly suitable for wage earners leading a hectic life in Hong Kong. Take air fryers as an example. Air fryers have become a popular kitchen gadget in recent years. As a small drawer-like box with multiple cooking functions, an air fryer can meet the many different dietary preferences of friends and relatives. In fact, the “all-in-one” merits exist not only in home appliances and entertainment products, but also in MPF as a retirement investment. Whether it is about the selection of constituent funds, the voluntary contribution arrangements or the transparency of fees, members will find their needs met by one solution.

Diversified asset classes: Investments and savings can take many forms. For savings, what instantly comes to the mind of most people are current and time deposits and insurance policies with savings element. As for investments, most people would think of stocks, unit trust funds and so on. In fact, MPF can become your ideal partner in retirement investment. With just one account, you can invest in MPF constituent funds of different asset classes (including stocks, bonds, hybrid funds, cash, etc.) at different risk levels in markets around the world. It is both convenient and flexible. However, you should note that the mandatory contributions in an MPF account can be withdrawn only when members reach the retirement age of 65 or qualify for early retirement. Members need to regularly adjust their investment portfolios based on market conditions and their needs at different stages of life, contrary to time or saving deposits where money is put in the account to receive interest payments automatically.

Additional voluntary contributions to bridge savings gap: MPF is one of the important pillars when it comes to retirement savings. Nevertheless, the mandatory contributions at 10% alone are unlikely enough to cover retirement needs. According to the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority’s calculation based on an Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development report, if members rely solely on mandatory MPF contributions as a saving tool to recover all their retirement needs, after 40 years of mandatory contributions calculated at the median domestic income, the reserves available for monthly withdrawal upon retirement would be equivalent to only 34% of their previous monthly salary1.Therefore, we could actively consider making additional voluntary contributions, such as special voluntary contributions (SVC) and Tax Deductible Voluntary Contributions (TVC). Members can make voluntary contributions flexibly without going through their employers. Contributions can either be made on a monthly or a one-off basis, with an amount as low as just several hundred dollars. The withdrawal of SVC is also highly flexible and members can withdraw the funds as needed at any time, without reaching the age of 65 or qualifying for early retirement. Alternatively, members can make TVC which are entitled to tax deductions, but they cannot withdraw the funds until they reach 65 or qualify for early retirement. Of course, investment involves risks and market fluctuations. Members are advised to choose the best investment vehicles based on their preferences.

Transparent fees and low threshold of voluntary contributions: It is the ultimate goal of many individuals to buy a home. Given that accommodation is a necessity of life, properties can be something to rely upon for retirement. However, property investment requires a handsome down payment, which is something not everyone can afford. The stamp duty and the realtor’s commission make the threshold even higher. As for buying stocks, the minimum subscription fee can vary greatly from several hundred dollars to tens of thousands. Apart from the brokerage commission, there are other fees such as the deposit transaction charge and the government stamp duty. By contrast, all the costs of MPF are reflected in the fund prices, with no further charge. Meanwhile, there is no charge for switching constituent funds or changing the investment ratio. Members do not have to worry about additional investment costs which may eat into their returns when selling or buying funds.

With affordable charges and diversified constituent funds, MPF is suitable for members with different risk profiles. Members are advised to first understand their investment objectives and risk appetites, and to make voluntary contributions as necessary. Remember, early retirement planning contributes to a desirable retirement life.

Source:

  1. Retrieved from the website of Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority: https://www.mpfa.org.hk/tch/information_centre/blog/190407.jsp, last updated on 7 April 2019.

The COVID-19 pandemic is still haunting the world. With a string of uncertainties, investors who want to avoid losses may tend to ignore their own risk profiles when making investment decisions. For example, they may place excessive emphasis on short-term market fluctuations and frequently switch their portfolios of long-term investments. Alternatively, they may misunderstand their realistic risk tolerance level and opt for asset allocations with risk levels lower than they are willing to tolerate. How can you, as a MPF member, make reasonable and rational investment decisions based on your retirement needs by means of effective risk management? And how can you prevent yourself from switching your portfolio too often in face of short-term market fluctuations?

Reduce investment risks with “dollar cost averaging”: When you have eight or ten years of work experience, you may understand that the ups and downs in an investment market are inevitable. MPF is a long-term investment. You make regular and mandatory contributions for fund subscriptions as per your selected investment portfolios, regardless of prices. In the long run, it means buying more units when the fund price is low and fewer units when the price is high. By smoothing out the peaks and troughs of prices, you can average out the cost of fund subscription. In a volatile market, you can build up your retirement pot with the “dollar cost averaging” strategy and reduce the impact of market fluctuations.

Gradually reduce risks when approaching retirement:When you are getting closer to the retirement age, you are advised to consider converting some of your MPF funds to those of lower risk classes by stages, so that your MPF savings accumulated over decades would not be compromised by market volatility. Apart from converting constituent funds on your own initiative to reduce investment risks, you may also resort to the “Default Investment Strategy” (DIS) for the same mechanism and philosophy, with automatic reduction of investment risks according to your age. To be specific, the percentage of equities in your DIS portfolio will be reduced on a yearly basis, gradually from 60% on your 50th to 20% after the age of 64. As a result, the portfolio and investment risks can be re-adjusted every year to counterbalance the risks.

MPF is a long-term investment. Before making investment decisions or asset allocations, you may first consider your long-term investment strategies and retirement needs, so as to avoid frequent adjustment of your investment portfolio because of short-term market fluctuations. Meanwhile, you are advised to select the right fund types that suit your investment objectives and risk tolerance.

 

Investment involves risks. Past performance is not indicative of future performance. The value of financial instruments, in particular stocks and shares, and any income from such financial instruments, may go down as well as up. For further details including the product features and risks involved, please refer to the MPF Scheme Brochure.

The content shared in this article should not be viewed as investment recommendation and advice. You should seek professional analysis and advice before making any decisions related to the information shared in this article.

強積金資訊

All-in-one 的產品及服務一向都是潮流的主導並受現代都市人歡迎,尤其適合香港忙碌的打工仔。例如近年人氣急升的廚房恩物:氣炸煱。它是一個抽屜式的小盒子配合多種煮食功能,滿足不同親朋好友的飲食偏好。其實不只是家電及娛樂產品,作為退休投資的強積金,亦讓成員體驗All-in-one的優勢。不論在成分基金選擇、自願性供款安排及收費透明度各方面,成員都可透過MPF一次過滿足這些需要。

集合多種資產類別於一身:退休投資或儲蓄可以有很多方法,大部份人一想到儲錢就聯想到港元儲蓄、做定期、儲蓄成分的保險等;而投資方面,多數人會想到買股票、單位信託基金等。其實強積金都可以成為你的理想退休投資夥伴,只需透過一個賬戶就可以投資於環球市場上多個地區、不同資產類別(包括股票、債券、混合基金、現金等)、不同風險水平的強積金成分基金,方便又具彈性。但需留意,強積金的強制性供款必須在成員達65歲退休年齡,或符合提早退休條件時方可領取,所以在整個投資過程中,成員需要定期按市況及不同人生階段的需要調整投資組合,不似做定期或儲蓄,只要把錢投放在戶口就能自動收到利息。

額外自願性供款彌補儲蓄缺口:強積金是退休儲蓄的重要支柱之一;但是,單靠強積金10%的強制性供款,應該不太足夠應付退休生活。積金局根據經濟合作發展組織的報告推算出,如成員只依賴法定強積金供款作退休儲蓄工具以支付整個退休生活,假若以本港入息中位數作強制性供款40年來計算,退休後他們每月可提取的儲備只相等於退休前每月薪金的34%1。所以大家應積極考慮作自願性供款,例如成員可自行安排作特別自願性供款及可扣稅自願性供款,不需透過僱主,既可選擇每月供款,亦可作一次性供款,供款額每次低至幾百元。特別自願性供款提取上亦極具彈性,成員可按需要隨時提取,不須等到65歲或符合提早退休時才能領取作退休之用。若成員選擇可扣稅自願性供款更能享受稅務扣減,但要到65歲退休或符合提早退休條件時方可領取這筆款項。當然,投資涉及風險,大市總有上落,成員要按自己的投資需要決定哪投資工具能切合你的投資取向。

收費具透明度,自願性供款入場費大眾化:很多打工仔都以買樓上車為目標,而住宿亦是生活必需品,所以以物業作為退休儲備是不錯的選擇。但置業需要動用大量資金作首期,並非每個人都可以負擔得起, 加上物業印花稅及經紀佣金等,門檻很高。至於買股票, 每手入場費由幾百元至幾萬元不等,差距可以很大。另外除了要支付經紀佣金,還要支付其他費用,例如存倉費、政府印花稅等。相比之下,強積金的所有費用早已反映在基金的價格上,不會再另外收費。另外,在轉換強積金成金基金或更改投資比例時並不設收費,成員不用擔心在賣出或買入基金時,被佣金蠶食你的投資成本。

強積金收費大眾化並設有多元化的成分基金選擇,適合不同風險承受能力的成員。成員必須先了解其投資目標及風險水平,有需要時就可配合靈活的自願性供款盡早策劃退休計劃,便可邁向舒適的退休生活。

資料來源:

  1. 取自強制性公積金計劃管理局網站:https://www.mpfa.org.hk/tch/information_centre/blog/190407.jsp,最後更新日期2019年4月7日。

新冠肺炎疫情仍在全球不斷演化,在連串不明朗的因素下,投資者想避免損失,在作出投資決定時或會忽略個人風險取向。例如過份重視短期市況波動,導致在長線投資時頻繁地轉換投資組合,又或錯估自己能承受的風險水平,偏向選擇低於自己風險承受能力的資產配置。 強積金成員可以怎樣透過有效風險管理,根據自己的退休生活需要作出合理及理智的投資決定,同時又能避免因短期市況波動而過度轉換投資組合?

「平均成本法」助減投資風險:如果你已有十年、八年的工作經驗,你或許明白投資市場的升跌實屬難免。而強積金作為一項長遠投資,是因為成員定期以法定的供款金額,不管價格高低,仍按已選定的投資組合認購基金。長遠而言,由於在基金價格較低時能購入更多基金單位,而在基金價格回升時可購入的基金單位相應減少,認購基金單位的成本因此能拉上補下,從而拉勻認購有關基金的成本。在波動市情況下,成員能以「平均成本法」去滾存退休儲備,減低市場波動帶來的影響。

臨近退休人士,逐步減低風險為上策:當你漸接近退休年齡,就要考慮分階段將部分強積金投資轉換至低風險的基金類別,這樣幾十年儲下來的強積金,就不會因市況波幅而被大打折扣。除了可以主動轉換基金以降低投資風險之外,其實此舉與「預設投資策略」採用的機制和理念相同,即成員的投資風險會隨著年齡增加而自動降低,「預設投資策略」投資組合內的股票比例會從成員50歲開始,由60%每年逐步降低至成員64歲後的20%,於是投資組合及投資風險每年得以重新調整,務求達致抗衡風險的效益。

強積金是一項長遠投資。在作出投資決定或資產配置前,成員可先考慮長遠的投資策略及退休生活需要,避免因短期市場波動而頻繁地調配投資組合,同時你亦應按自己投資目標和風險承受能力選擇合適的基金類別。

 

投資涉及風險,往績不能作為未來表現的指標。金融工具(尤其是股票及股份)之價值及任何來自此類金融工具之收入均可跌可升。有關詳情,包括產品特點及所涉及的風險,請參閱強積金計劃說明書。

本文所提供之資料不應被視為投資推介及建議。你應於作出任何有關本文內容的決定前,聽取專業人士的分析及建議。