Winning the long-distance race in fund investment

Just as we urbanites are addicted to smartphones, Tony Tsoi has an obsession with running shoes. By maintaining his physical well-being and managing wealth, Tsoi has mastered the skills to stay "healthy" in both arenas.

"I have travelled to many places around the globe as the job I have been doing for almost 20 years takes me everywhere," says Tsoi, the founder of Stand News and the former CEO of Varitronix International Limited. "I also travel widely with my family. I must admit that I bring along my running shoes when I travel abroad 100% of the time, even on single-day trips."

But why the preference to run on foreign soil? Tsoi explains that running in an unfamiliar environment gives him a sense of wonderment, even with the help of a map. The fresh air and cool temperature in some foreign countries are also ideal for running.

Overcoming the blind spots in investment

Tsoi compares investing to running as both share similar features. Just as he likes to run in different corners of the world, investment is not bound by geographical locations. "It doesn't matter where you sit or where you live," says Tsoi. The rapid transfer of information and decreasing transaction costs have facilitated foreign investment. As most Hong Kong investors concentrate their investments in Hong Kong and China, investing overseas can help them diversify investment risks. Furthermore, enterprises from different regions usually entail different industrial advantages. For example, Swiss companies are outstanding pharmaceutical players while German companies excel in industrial equipment. Foreign investments open up the door for investors to invest in enterprises that would otherwise be inaccessible to most of us. Needless to say, investors must pay meticulous attention to the investable universe of different mutual funds: some funds tend to concentrate their investments in relatively risky areas, such as emerging markets, high-risk industries or stocks with small and medium market capitalisations. Investors should base their decisions on their risk tolerance and their own needs. 

But how can we start investing overseas? Tsoi suggests mutual funds as one of the investment tools to achieve this purpose. Mutual funds require a smaller principal investment and they are managed by professionals so you don't need to monitor the market every second of the day. Tsoi points out one of the advantages of fund investments, which is often overlooked by investors: "The best thing about investing in mutual funds is that it can help retail investors overcome their biggest weakness – poor market timing. Human nature is hard to change. For example, some people are holding stocks that could potentially grow tenfold. However, they often lack patience and sell the stock after a 20% to 30% increase, thereby forgoing the chance to maximise profit. In contrast, mutual funds are medium- to long-term investments where fund managers will make selling decisions on your behalf. These can save you from the curse of ‘winning a little, but losing a fortune'."

Control the pace of your investment

Just as a pair of running shoes is indispensable for running enthusiasts, choosing the right mutual fund should be the prime concern for investors. Tsoi reminds us that, since the transaction fees of mutual funds are quite expensive, the asset class is not suitable for frequent trading. This underscores the importance of understanding your own needs when it comes to picking the right mutual funds. Tsoi light-heartedly advises our reporter to be more aggressive in the investment arena. As our reporter is still quite young, Tsoi suggests that he should invest more in stock funds, but he prefers a safer choice for himself – the stable stream of income offer by bond funds would satisfy his needs.

 After deciding on which class of mutual fund to invest in, how should we select individual funds given the abundant choices in the market? Tsoi says: "Although the past performance of mutual funds do not represent their future returns, it can serve as a useful reference, just as we refer to job candidates' resumes when we hire people. Sizable fund houses are not necessarily better. It is normal that some funds underperform their benchmark indexes once in a while. However, if a fund consistently falls behind index return, it should be excluded from our list of consideration."

Other Expert Talks

Important Risk Warning

  • You are responsible for your own investment decisions. You should not invest in a certain product unless the intermediary who sells the product has clearly explained to you the suitability of the product with regard to your financial situation, investment experience and investment objectives.
  • Fund products are not the same as time deposits. Funds are investment products and some may involve the use of derivatives.
  • In the worst-case scenario, the value of the fund may be substantially less than the amount you invested (in extreme cases, your investment may become worthless).
  • Investors should not make investment decisions based solely on the information in this article. You should read the offering documents related to the product and learn about the product details, including the risk factors involved.
  • Funds invested in certain markets (for example: emerging markets, commodity markets and small businesses) may involve higher risk and are generally more sensitive to price changes.

Disclaimer

  • Investment involves risk. Prices of investment products may go up or down. Buying and selling the investment product may incur a loss. Profit is not guaranteed.
  • The information contained herein does not constitute a solicitation to any person to deposit or invest in any of the investment products described in the article.
  • The information contained in this article has not been reviewed by the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission or any other regulatory authorities.
  • The Bank does not guarantee or assume any responsibility for the accuracy or reliability of the information contained herein. The Bank will not assume any responsibility for any losses or damages arisen due to the advice, opinion or statement made in this article under all situations.
  • Unless the speaker explicitly specifies a certain point of view originates from the Bank, the comments represent the view of the speaker only. Comments published in this article are subject to change without prior notice.

長跑悟基金真諦

現代都市人「機不離手」,蔡東豪「鞋不離手」,不論在身體與理財,都活出健康的生活。

「近二十年的工作,以及與家人旅遊,都讓我見識世界不同的地方。我敢說百分之一百的旅程,都會帶一雙跑鞋去跑步,即使是單日的旅途也不例外。」《立場新聞》創辦人、前精電國際行政總裁蔡東豪開門見山說。

為甚麼蔡東豪特別鍾情在外國跑步?他解釋,即使如何看地圖,外國對自己而言仍是陌生,而且空氣清新,溫度涼爽正適合跑步。

克服投資盲點

蔡東豪笑言,投資與跑步的道理一脈相承。他以自己到世界各地跑步為例,強調投資與大家「坐係邊,住係邊」是沒有關係的。現在資訊流通,海外投資的交易費用亦大幅下調,加上一般人投資集中在中港地區的資產,海外投資能分散風險;何況每個地區的企業各有所長,如瑞士的醫藥、德國的工業設備等,海外投資便可以接觸到這些以往未必有機會涉足的企業。當然,投資者亦要留意不同基金的投資範圍,部分基金或會集中投資於風險較高的新興市場、行業或中小型股份等,投資者需視乎自己的風險承受能力及需要作適當選擇。

大家應該如何開始海外投資?蔡東豪建議,基金是可考慮的其中一種工具,因為本金要求不算太高,又有專業人士管理,大家不必時刻留意市場。他又指出基金往往被人忽略的優點:「基金最大的好處是克服散戶的投資盲點,因為人性是最難改變的,例如一些人持有一隻能升十倍的股票,但升了兩三成已經忍不住沽出,無法賺取最大潛在盈利。然而基金是中長期投資,且有基金經理判斷賣出時機,因此不用每次都『贏粒糖,輸間廠』。」

投資需緊放有度

跑步要適合的鞋,投資也要選擇合適的基金。蔡東豪提醒大家,由於基金交易費用高,不宜頻繁買賣,因此要清楚了解自己的需要,選擇適合的基金。他笑言記者較年輕,因此可以進取一點,考慮較多股票基金,至於自己則要穩陣,債券基金穩定收入已經滿足。

決定了適合的基金類別,但市面上的選擇眾多,又應如何選擇?蔡東豪建議:「基金的過往表現雖不保證未來的回報,但可作大家參考。聘請員工要看履歷,大型基金公司不一定好,大家比較基金回報與指標指數,偶有失手可以理解,但經常跑輸就不應考慮了。」

其他達人分享

重要風險通知

  • 投資決定是由閣下自行作出的,但閣下不應投資在該產品,除非中介人於銷售該產品時已向閣下解釋經考慮閣下的財務情況、 投資經驗及目標後,該產品是適合閣下的。
  • 基金產品並不相等於定期存款。基金乃投資產品而部份涉及金融衍生工具。
  • 在最壞情況下,基金價值或會大幅地少於您的投資金額(在極端的情況下,您的投資可能會變成沒有價值)。
  • 投資者不應只根據本文而作出任何投資決定。閣下應細閱產品有關的銷售文件以獲知產品詳情,包括所涉及的風險因素。
  • 投資於某種市場之基金(例如:新興市場、商品市場、小型企業等)可能會涉及較高風險,並通常對價格變動比較敏感。

責任聲明

  • 投資涉及風險。投資產品價格可升可跌。買賣投資產品均可能帶來虧損,而不一定可賺取利潤。
  • 本文所載資料並不構成招攬任何人作存款或投資於本文所述之任何投資產品。
  • 本文所載內容及資料未經香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會或任何監管機構審核。
  • 對於本文所載資料的準確度或可靠性,本行並無作出保證或承擔任何責任。在任何情況下,本行概不就本文的任何建議、意見或陳述而引至的任何損失或破壞承擔任何責任。
  • 除非講者表明有關觀點來自本行,否則有關意見代表該講者。本文內容所發表的意見,可予修改而毋須另行通知。