Seizing Value-Investing Opportunities in the Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect

The Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect (SZHK) scheme is expected to roll out by the end of this year. Peter Tsang, the famed financial commentator and follower of legendary commodities-investment guru Jim Rogers, believes that the doctrines of value investing can help investors capture opportunities under the SZHK scheme.

As an apprentice of Jim Rogers and a value-investing devotee, Tsang reminds investors of the perils of a herd mentality: "While many financial pundits are quick to conclude that the Shenzhen stock market is a sweet spot for Hong Kong investors because it is rich in new-economy concept stocks and covers sectors we don't have in Hong Kong, we must not forget the principles of value investing." Value investing emphasises the intrinsic value of companies, which is determined by assessing a mix of fundamental factors including earnings growth, dividend distribution capabilities and net asset value. If the intrinsic value is higher than the current price, it may signal more room for potential changes in price, Tsang says.

The Methodology of Value Investing is also Applicable to Shenzhen Stocks

Some market analysts have claimed that the approach of analysing stocks in value investing is not applicable to the Mainland stock market. Tsang, however, has an opposing view: "I believe that the senior policymakers in China have been steadfast in their reform efforts to open up the market in order to usher in fair and open competition. As long as this policy direction stays unchanged, value investors who invest only in high-quality companies will certainly be likely to earn a reasonable return."

"Now we have the Shanghai-Hong Kong Stock Connect (SHHK) and the SZHK, we can give the schemes a new name: the China-Hong Kong Stock Connect," Tsang says light-heartedly. With the launch of the SZHK, the abolition of investment quotas and the expanding scope of eligible stocks, the Mainland stock market is opening up its door even further to Hong Kong and foreign investors. This is not only a critical step in the market reform roadmap, but also a potential trigger to start a re-rating process in certain Hong Kong stocks that are trading at low valuations.

After its launch, the SHHK scheme was well received during the stock market rally from the end of 2014 to mid-2015 and in recent months, albeit occasionally with thin transaction volumes. The SHHK mainly covers blue chips and large-cap stocks, which retail investors in general are not interested in; on the other hand, fund houses can funnel their investments through QDII or QFII schemes, so market responses for the SHHK may sometimes be lukewarm, Tsang explains. In contrast, the SZHK has wider coverage over small- and mid-cap stocks, hence the new scheme is expected to open up new investment channels that can enhance liquidity in both the SZHK markets. It may enjoy a warmer reception than the SHHK, Tsang says.

Furthermore, the small- and mid-cap stocks selected by the Shenzhen Stock Exchange and the Hong Kong Stock Exchange to be included in the Stock Connect have larger market cap than peers in the same class. This can reduce investment risks borne by investors under the scheme. It also reflects the authorities' intention to educate investors. Tsang believes that, if the stock exchanges exert greater effort to promote the scheme, it will encourage more southbound capital to flow into Hong Kong's quality stocks. As the Mainland market entails a larger pool of capital than the Hong Kong market, channeling funds to Hong Kong is set to beef up the transaction volume and improve valuations in Hong Kong stocks, he adds.

On stock selection, Tsang remarks: "We should consider if the revenue and profit of an enterprise are able to expand as its business grows, and whether it is attractively priced relative to its net asset value. The Shenzhen stock market is filled with ‘growth stocks' trading at staggering price-to-earnings ratios and price-to-book ratios. A case in point is a Chinese tech stock that saw its stock price nearly doubled in May 2015. But the strong rally was followed by an equally dramatic slump. The current price is down 25% from last year's peak."

Tsang advises investors that, if they attempt to invest in "new economy" sectors in China, they should first gain a thorough understanding of the sectors. For example, to invest in biotech companies, investors should investigate whether the firms in question have new drugs in the pipeline, and whether the new drugs can bring in considerable profits.

Consider A-H Premium and Fundamental Factors

Hong Kong stocks in general are trading at lower valuations than their Chinese counterparts. For the same stocks dual-listed in both markets, A shares may be trading at a premium over their respective H shares. Can this help to drive capital southward? Tsang thinks that, given the same voting rights, a stock should be trading at the same price across different markets. However, some A shares are trading at a premium because they have less outstanding issues in circulation; the larger pool of capital in the Mainland market coupled with previous RMB appreciation expectations also led to the valuation premium in A shares. The premium may still present after the launch of the SHHK.

Tsang expects the A-H premium to gradually tighten under expectations of RMB depreciation and the launch of the SZHK. Nevertheless, he cautions that investors should not impetuously invest in H shares that are trading at a large discount to their respective A shares. "Although some H shares are trading at a discounted price when compared to their A shares, this does not necessarily mean they are trading at a low valuation. They cost less than their A-share peers but can still be expensive. To illustrate this with an example, assume that you are searching for a hotel room for your overseas trip and come across an ordinary hotel room that costs $500 per night. This appears cheap when you compare it to the $1,000 per night price tag of a room with a sea view. However, by paying more, you will receive much more pleasure than if you stayed in an ordinary room. So some people may think it is worthwhile to pay the premium." Tsang expects that Mainland investors who have a long-term perspective will wait for the A-H premium to narrow. If this is true, fundamentally strong H shares may have a better chance to outperform when the A-H valuation gap closes. The price trends of Chinese banking stocks and insurer stocks have demonstrated this point well - the blue chips in these sectors have seen their A-H price gaps further narrowed when news about the SZHK came out.

Tsang suggested to consider several well-known enterprises listed in Hong Kong. "Mainland investors are more familiar with these brands, and well-known companies are better positioned in a speculative market. In addition, investors should focus on sectors in which low entry points are present. For example, if you are optimistic that the stock of a well-known property developer will perform well, but the current home-buying restrictions implemented by the government have led to a price correction in the stock, then you may evaluate the company's fundamental factors first and then consider to ride on the correction to invest in the stock at a low price. You should try to find out if the developer has refrained from bidding for overpriced land, or if it has achieved an outstanding pre-sale record within the year. Lastly, Tsang concludes by saying that, no matter which stock market you plan to invest in, be it Shenzhen or Hong Kong, "protect capital first before adding value to your investment" is always the essence of value investing.

Other Expert Talks

Disclaimers:

The Bank does not guarantee or assume any responsibility for the accuracy or reliability of the information contained herein. The Bank will not assume any responsibility for any losses or damages arisen due to the advice, opinion or statement made in this article under all situations.

Unless the speaker explicitly specifies a certain point of view originates from the Bank, the comments represent the view of the speaker only. Comments published in this article are subject to change without prior notice.

Important Risk Warning

  • You are responsible for your own investment decisions. You should not invest in a certain product unless the intermediary who sells the product has clearly explained to you the suitability of the product with regard to your financial situation, investment experience and investment objectives.
  • Fund products are not the same as time deposits. Funds are investment products and some may involve the use of derivatives.
  • In the worst-case scenario, the value of the fund may be substantially less than the amount you invested (in extreme cases, your investment may become worthless).
  • Investors should not make investment decisions based solely on the information in this article. You should read the offering documents related to the product and learn about the product details, including the risk factors involved.
  • Funds invested in certain markets (for example: emerging markets, commodity markets and small businesses) may involve higher risk and are generally more sensitive to price changes.

Disclaimer

  • Investment involves risk. Prices of investment products may go up or down. Buying and selling the investment product may incur a loss. Profit is not guaranteed.
  • The information contained herein does not constitute a solicitation to any person to deposit or invest in any of the investment products described in the article.
  • The information contained in this article has not been reviewed by the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission or any other regulatory authorities.
  • The Bank does not guarantee or assume any responsibility for the accuracy or reliability of the information contained herein. The Bank will not assume any responsibility for any losses or damages arisen due to the advice, opinion or statement made in this article under all situations.
  • Unless the speaker explicitly specifies a certain point of view originates from the Bank, the comments represent the view of the speaker only. Comments published in this article are subject to change without prior notice.

深港通的價值投資

深港通預計於今年年底開通,著名的財經評論員、「商品大王」羅傑斯的弟子曾廣標認為,運用價值投資,能更「健康」地捕捉深港通的機遇。

作為羅傑斯的弟子及價值投資的信眾,曾廣標提醒大家不要人云亦云:「市面上很多分析指,深圳有很多香港欠缺的板塊,又有新經濟概念,值得投資。不過,大家不要忘記價值投資的要訣。」他解釋,價值投資要看企業本身是否有價值,包括盈利增長、派息能力及資產淨值等基本因素。如果價值高於價格,潛在價格變動空間可能較多。

價值投資同樣適用深圳股份

 有市場分析認為價值分析並不適用於內地股市,曾廣標對此並不認同:「我認為中央最高層一直希望進行改革,讓市場公平公開競爭,只要方針不變,投資於優質公司的價值投資者,自然可以享受合理的回報。」

「滬港通加上深港通,其實以後可以直接稱為『中港通』。」曾廣標笑言,深港通開通,加上取消額度限制及增加可投資的股票,可以看作是內地股市進一步向香港以至海外投資者開放,為改革的重要一步,估值較低的港股,亦有望進入一個重新估值的過程。

滬港通開通至今,2014年尾到2015年中股市急升期間,以及近月反應相當熱烈,不過亦有交投淡靜的日子。曾分析指,滬港通主要包括藍籌與大價股,一般散戶興趣不大,而基金本身可以透過QDII或QFII投資,因此滬港通的反應時冷時熱,不過,深港通覆蓋更多中小型股份,預計深港通能成為增加兩地資金的投資渠道,反應料可能較滬港通佳。

此外,深交所及港交所均挑選規模較大的中小型股,降低股民的選股風險,反映當局有意進行投資者教育,相信當局宣傳的力度更大,有利更多資金南下挑選香港的優質股。他又補充,相比香港,中國的資金量更大,有助盤活港股的成交,提高估值。

在選擇股票時,他提醒大家:「我們要留意企業增長是否包括收入與盈利?資產淨值是否吸引?深圳股市有不少幾十倍市盈率、幾倍市帳率的『增長股』,例如2015年5月曾有內地科網股股價升近一倍,但升得快亦跌得快,現價距離去年高位僅四分之一。」

曾廣標建議,如果想投資內地新經濟板塊,需要先對行業有較深的認識,例如投資生物科技企業,要認識其是否即將推出新藥,而新藥又是否能帶來可觀的盈利。

看AH溢價亦看基本因素

香港股票普遍估值低於中國,同樣的股份,A股或較H股有溢價,是否能帶動資金南下?曾廣標分析,同股同權應該同價,不過部分A股流通量較少,內地市場資金量又高於港股,加上過去人民幣升值預期,導致A股出現溢價,該情況在滬港通開通後仍未消失。

他預期AH溢價隨著人民幣貶值預期及深港通開通而縮窄,不過,曾廣標認為大家不應盲目投資較A股有大折讓的H股:「一些H股較A股折讓(便宜)的股份,不一定代表H股便宜,只是相比A股『無咁貴』,H股其實也昂貴,這就如旅行時,一間普通酒店客房收費500元,這跟收費同1,000元的全海景客房相比,當然較便宜,但後者付出多些,獲得回報卻跟享受遠超前者,有些人或者會覺得更值得。」他又估計,只有內地長綫投資者才會等AH溢價收窄,意味有基本因素支持的H股,炒AH股收窄的值博率較高,以內銀及內險股為例,深港通傳通車後,該類藍籌股AH差價已進一步收窄。

問及有何優質股值得留意,曾廣標提議可以留意在香港上市的知名企業:「一方面,更多內地投資者認識這些公司品牌;同時,選擇板塊要有低吸的機會,以內房股為例,現時政府收緊樓市政策,該板塊股價或現調整,投資者可以從基本因素著手,留意估值較低、沒有高價搶地及今年預售樓花理想的房企。」他總結,不論在深圳或香港股市,都要「先保本,後增值」,才是價值投資法的精要。

其他達人分享

責任聲明:

對於本文所載資料的準確度或可靠性,本行並無作出保證或承擔任何責任。在任何情況下,本行概不就本文的任何建議、意見或陳述而引至的任何損失或破壞承擔任何責任。

除非講者表明有關觀點來自本行,否則有關意見代表該講者。本文內容所發表的意見,可予修改而毋須另行通知。

重要風險通知
  • 投資決定是由閣下自行作出的,但閣下不應投資在該產品,除非中介人於銷售該產品時已向閣下解釋經考慮閣下的財務情況、 投資經驗及目標後,該產品是適合閣下的。
  • 基金產品並不相等於定期存款。基金乃投資產品而部份涉及金融衍生工具。
  • 在最壞情況下,基金價值或會大幅地少於您的投資金額(在極端的情況下,您的投資可能會變成沒有價值)。
  • 投資者不應只根據本文而作出任何投資決定。閣下應細閱產品有關的銷售文件以獲知產品詳情,包括所涉及的風險因素。
  • 投資於某種市場之基金(例如:新興市場、商品市場、小型企業等)可能會涉及較高風險,並通常對價格變動比較敏感。

責任聲明

  • 投資涉及風險。投資產品價格可升可跌。買賣投資產品均可能帶來虧損,而不一定可賺取利潤。
  • 本文所載資料並不構成招攬任何人作存款或投資於本文所述之任何投資產品。
  • 本文所載內容及資料未經香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會或任何監管機構審核。
  • 對於本文所載資料的準確度或可靠性,本行並無作出保證或承擔任何責任。在任何情況下,本行概不就本文的任何建議、意見或陳述而引至的任何損失或破壞承擔任何責任。
  • 除非講者表明有關觀點來自本行,否則有關意見代表該講者。本文內容所發表的意見,可予修改而毋須另行通知。