For good financial health, fund investments would also need regular check-ups

Along with a balanced lifestyle, regular check-ups are vital for living a healthy life. Renowned financial commentator Dr. Chan Yan-chong (better known as Tsang Sir) has more than 20 years of experience in the investment arena, and he believes that having regular 'health check-ups' on fund investments are equally crucial for maintaining financial wellness.

In addition to staying relaxed and adopting healthy habits, Tsang Sir reveals that his health philosophy centres on the adage "prevention is better than cure". "I go for health checks regularly so that if there is anything wrong, I can get proper treatment as early as possible," he says.

Given the chance to interview Tsang Sir, we seized the opportunity to ask his investment advice. Tsang Sir stresses that, while fund selection is critical for successful investments, the importance of conducting regular check-ups on the invested funds cannot be ignored. "Fund investments are similar to other kinds of investments - investors need to pay close attention, particularly if there are any changes to the fund managers."

Review Fund Performance Quarterly

Investors can easily keep track of any reshuffles in the investment personnel of a fund since funds usually take active steps to make such matters public. But how can we examine the performance of a fund, and in particular fund returns, which are often what investors care about the most? "When investors evaluate fund returns, they shouldn't just look at the profit or loss figures," says Tsang Sir. "Instead, they should compare the return of a fund with the return of its peers and the relevant benchmark index. Tsang Sir continues: "We should keep our fingers on the pulse of our fund investment to gauge its condition. Ask yourself, is there anything wrong with the fund? I usually look at the investment portfolios of the funds I have invested in to see if their investment strategies are still relevant."

But, as the saying goes, we are all human being and cannot be perfect all the time, so it is understandable that fund managers may perform poorly once in a while. Tsang Sir thinks that an occasional slip in fund performance doesn't justify a change in investment. Investors should ponder why the fund performed poorly and check if it was repeating its past mistakes. Before deciding whether to continue to invest in the fund, it is useful to evaluate the past performance of the existing fund.

Tsang Sir cautions that, if an underperforming fund manager continues to increase the stake in investments that detracted the performance of the fund without reasonable grounds, then we must be extra vigilant about that fund investment. Conversely, if a fund is able to beat the market against a bearish backdrop, this is testimony to the fund manager's fund-management capabilities, and investors can consider stepping up their investment in the fund when the price is low.

Focus on Volatility, Return Comes Second

As well as annual returns, Tsang Sir advises monitoring the volatility of fund returns. Assume that two funds - Fund A and Fund B - have the same average annualised return of 10% over the past five years but Fund A has an annualised volatility of five, lower than Fund B's annualised volatility of eight over the same period. It means that Fund A has relatively stable returns and the performance of Fund B was more volatile.

Risk and return are closely related in the investment world. With a lower risk profile, Fund A managed to obtain the same level of return as Fund B, implying that Fund A has achieved a higher risk-adjusted return and performed better than Fund B over the period. When we review the report cards of funds, we can use the Sharpe Ratio to compare their risk-adjusted returns.

To keep our bodies and our fund investments healthy, it's important to conduct regular check-ups and abide by the motto of "prevention is better than cure". While a once-a-year check-up may not be sufficient to keep your investment sound, a daily review may be overkill. Thus, Tsang Sir suggests a quarterly check-up on our fund investments: "Fund investments are like the human body; they can sometimes be susceptible to problems. Funds perform differently in different scenarios - volatility may amplify and diminish, returns may go up and down. Therefore, we need to conduct regular check-ups on our funds to detect any early symptoms of illness. Ideally, the check-up report will reflect a good condition, but if the report raises red flags, it would be wiser for us to treat the small problems before they turn into serious ones."

Note:
The benchmark index of a fund can serve as a performance indicator of the fund. It can be used for comparing fund prices and asset prices. For example, the Hang Seng Index is an appropriate benchmark index for Hong Kong equity funds but using it to gauge the performance of US equity funds would be inappropriate. To learn which benchmark index a fund is using, you can refer to the fund's prospectus.

Other Expert Talks

Disclaimers:

The Bank does not guarantee or assume any responsibility for the accuracy or reliability of the information contained herein. The Bank will not assume any responsibility for any losses or damages arisen due to the advice, opinion or statement made in this article under all situations.

Unless the speaker explicitly specifies a certain point of view originates from the Bank, the comments represent the view of the speaker only. Comments published in this article are subject to change without prior notice.

Important Risk Warning
  • You are responsible for your own investment decisions. You should not invest in a certain product unless the intermediary who sells the product has clearly explained to you the suitability of the product with regard to your financial situation, investment experience and investment objectives.
  • Fund products are not the same as time deposits. Funds are investment products and some may involve the use of derivatives.
  • In the worst-case scenario, the value of the fund may be substantially less than the amount you invested (in extreme cases, your investment may become worthless).
  • Investors should not make investment decisions based solely on the information in this article. You should read the offering documents related to the product and learn about the product details, including the risk factors involved.
  • Funds invested in certain markets (for example: emerging markets, commodity markets and small businesses) may involve higher risk and are generally more sensitive to price changes.

Disclaimer

  • Investment involves risk. Prices of investment products may go up or down. Buying and selling the investment product may incur a loss. Profit is not guaranteed.
  • The information contained herein does not constitute a solicitation to any person to deposit or invest in any of the investment products described in the article.
  • The information contained in this article has not been reviewed by the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission or any other regulatory authorities.
  • The Bank does not guarantee or assume any responsibility for the accuracy or reliability of the information contained herein. The Bank will not assume any responsibility for any losses or damages arisen due to the advice, opinion or statement made in this article under all situations.
  • Unless the speaker explicitly specifies a certain point of view originates from the Bank, the comments represent the view of the speaker only. Comments published in this article are subject to change without prior notice.

基金都要定期Body Check

除了保持健康的生活习惯,定期身体检查对身体健康同样重要,着名财经评论人丶在投资市场拥有逾20年经验的曾渊沧博士(曾Sir),深信投资基金同样需要做Body Check,确保时刻都财富健康。

除了放松心情,坚持健康的生活习惯外,曾Sir透露自己有预防胜于治疗的习惯:「我定期就会做一次身体检查,身体有甚麽毛病都能及早对症下药。」

与曾Sir倾谈,自然少不免请教投资的心得,他笑言投资基金固然要选好基金,投资后同样需要定期做好检查:「与其他投资一样,基金同样要不时留意其表现,并特别注意基金经理是否换人。」

每季检视基金表现

基金经理换人不难观察,因为基金都会主动公布,那麽我们如何去检查基金的表现呢?大家最关心的当然是基金的回报:「留意表现不单是看基金赚或蚀,大家要把其表现,与同类的基金回报以及适当的基准指数作出比较。曾Sir分析说:「大家每次都应该进一步细心检查基金的『健康状况』,有没有出现问题?通常我会看基金的投资组合,从而观察基金的投资策略是否合适。」

当然,人谁无过,投资市场没有常胜将军,基金经理偶有失手亦属正常,曾Sir认为无需一看到手上基金表现失色就立即换马,只要细心发掘基金表现失利的原因,确保基金没有重蹈覆辙,考虑其过去表现,便可以决定是否继续投资。

曾Sir又提醒大家,假如基金经理持续加注早前失利的投资,若果欠缺有说服力的理由,便要多加留意。他又分享指,如果大市明显下跌,但基金能跑赢大市,证明基金经理的能力,届时可以考虑乘机低吸丶增加投资。

看回报更要看波幅

除了回报外,曾Sir建议大家同时留意回报的波幅。假设两只基金甲及乙的5年年均回报均为10%,然而甲的5年年度化波幅为5,乙则为8,意味基金甲的回报表现较稳定,乙则表现上落较大。

在投资市场上,回报往往伴随着风险,甲基金以较少的风险为代价,取得与乙同样的成绩,反映期间甲的风险调整后回报较高,表现较可取。查看基金的成绩时,可以参考其夏普比率来比较风险调整后回报。

不论身体还是基金,大家都必须定期做好检查,防患于未然。每年看一次太久,每日观看又过度费时费神,曾Sir建议大家每季做一次基金的Body Check:「就好像身体总会出现一些情况,基金同样有不同的表现,例如波幅大小丶回报高低等,因此我们需要定期检查基金,无惊无险固然最好,若有毛病亦可尽早发现,避免小毛病变大毛病。」

注:
基金所定下的基准指数可以作为指标,用作比较基金与资产价格的表现。例如恒指是港股基金合适的基准指数,但不能用于衡量美股基金的表现。基金的基准指数可于其章程查阅。

其他达人分享

责任声明:

对于本文所载资料的准确度或可靠性,本行并无作出保证或承担任何责任。在任何情况下,本行概不就本文的任何建议丶意见或陈述而引至的任何损失或破坏承担任何责任。

除非讲者表明有关观点来自本行,否则有关意见代表该讲者。本文内容所发表的意见,可予修改而毋须另行通知。

重要风险通知

  • 投资决定是由阁下自行作出的,但阁下不应投资在该产品,除非中介人于销售该产品时已向阁下解释经考虑阁下的财务情况丶 投资经验及目标后,该产品是适合阁下的。
  • 基金产品并不相等于定期存款。基金乃投资产品而部份涉及金融衍生工具。
  • 在最坏情况下,基金价值或会大幅地少于您的投资金额(在极端的情况下,您的投资可能会变成没有价值)。
  • 投资者不应只根据本文而作出任何投资决定。阁下应细阅产品有关的销售文件以获知产品详情,包括所涉及的风险因素。
  • 投资于某种市场之基金(例如:新兴市场丶商品市场丶小型企业等)可能会涉及较高风险,并通常对价格变动比较敏感。

责任声明

  • 投资涉及风险。投资产品价格可升可跌。买卖投资产品均可能带来亏损,而不一定可赚取利润。
  • 本文所载资料并不构成招揽任何人作存款或投资于本文所述之任何投资产品。
  • 本文所载内容及资料未经香港证券及期货事务监察委员会或任何监管机构审核。
  • 对于本文所载资料的准确度或可靠性,本行并无作出保证或承担任何责任。在任何情况下,本行概不就本文的任何建议丶意见或陈述而引至的任何损失或破坏承担任何责任。
  • 除非讲者表明有关观点来自本行,否则有关意见代表该讲者。本文内容所发表的意见,可予修改而毋须另行通知。