Profit as the 'Essential Nutrient' in Investing

Everybody knows that selecting nutrient-rich foods to include in our diet is the key to staying healthy. However, do you know that the same discerning attitude applies to stock investing as well? Billy Mak, Associate Professor, Department of Finance and Decision Sciences at Hong Kong Baptist University and member of the Consultative Committee at the Investor Education Centre, reminds investors to look at the "nutrient label" - the potential profitability of stocks - in stock selection.

"When we select what food to eat, we choose according to what our bodies need. By the same token, when we pick stocks, we should consider our financial needs in order to select suitable companies to invest in." Mak sees the similarities between eating healthily and stock investing.

A Top-Down Approach to Stock Selection

The "nutrient level" of an enterprise is a synonym for its profitability, or the ability to generate a profit, Mak explains. In general, the higher the profitability, the stronger the stock performance and dividend distribution capabilities. However, returns are always accompanied by risks, and companies adopting different earning models often have different kinds of "nutrients" - the contrasting nature of potential returns and risks. Before making any investment decisions, it is worth considering your investment objective - is your primary goal risk management or return optimisation? With the answer in mind, you can choose stocks based on their 'nutrition level' according to your needs. For example, defensive stocks such as utilities generally have modest earnings growth but their performances are relatively stable and they have lower risks. Thus, defensive stocks maybe more suitable for investors with a lower risk tolerance. In contrast, growth stocks such as "new economy" stocks and internet stocks have larger earnings growth potential. However, these stocks are more volatile and may suffer occasional drops in earnings. Therefore, they maybe more suitable for investors seeking capital appreciation.

"Among various types of stock selection techniques, I recommend the top-down approach to investing. This approach can be applied widely across different sectors, and it is a time-tested method that proves effective over a long period," Mak notes. A top-down approach begins with evaluating opportunities in geographical regions. In this step, countries amid cyclical upswings are favoured. Afterwards, we can go on to identify industries that are experiencing upturns in the earnings cycle. This can be done by assessing the economic cycles of different industries. The last step involves stock analysis to detect companies suitable for investing. Mak advises investors not to focus solely on Hong Kong stocks; there are hidden opportunities in China A shares, too. You can even invest globally through the ETFs in US market.

For instance, with the interest rate cycle stuck in low gear, the level of rental income contributed by real estate investment trusts (REITs) is more attractive than interest rates paid by banks and bonds. REITs as an asset class entails a higher profitability than the others amid a low interest rate environment. If you have decided to invest in REITs, the next step is to select the suitable option by taking into account the dividend records, rental growth and property portfolios of different REITs.

Peer Group Analysis with Financial Ratios

The many stock analysis techniques out there can be overwhelming to investors. Mak suggests that investors begin their evaluations with P/E ratio, P/B ratio and dividend yield. He stresses that the ratios of a target company should be compared only to peers with a similar profile. For example, IT stocks usually have high P/E ratios but they are not necessarily overpriced. Investors have to determine if the elevated P/E is due to inflated price (P) under positive earnings (E) outlook, or due to sliding share price as a consequence of shrinking earnings. The former case may suggest buying opportunities, but investors should stay on the side-lines if the latter holds true.

 For companies with high asset values and volatile earnings, such as real estate stocks and financial stocks, P/B is a better gauge of their performance. If a P/B ratio is less than one, it means the share price (P) is selling for less than the book value (B) of the company's assets. Generally speaking, the greater the discount, the higher the investment value of the stock.

 Furthermore, some kinds of stocks, such as utilities, mainly use their earnings for distributing dividends. Therefore, their share prices may never witness significant ascent. Since dividend income and share price increases are both sources of asset value appreciation, dividend yield is a more appropriate indicator for this kind of dividend-paying stocks.

 To conclude, Mak sums up his experience in stock selection: "When you screen industries to invest in, avoid making the wrong bet. Choose sectors with large earnings growth potential rather than sunset industries. In stock selection, go for recognised companies that have a competitive edge within their industry. The advantages of industry leaders, in terms of the availability of capital, technology and distribution channels, are harder to supplant in a short timeframe. They are also more resilient in the face of unexpected risks."

Other Expert Talks

Disclaimers:

The Bank does not guarantee or assume any responsibility for the accuracy or reliability of the information contained herein. The Bank will not assume any responsibility for any losses or damages arisen due to the advice, opinion or statement made in this article under all situations.

Unless the speaker explicitly specifies a certain point of view originates from the Bank, the comments represent the view of the speaker only. Comments published in this article are subject to change without prior notice.

Important Risk Warning
  •  You are responsible for your own investment decisions. You should not invest in a certain product unless the intermediary who sells the product has clearly explained to you the suitability of the product with regard to your financial situation, investment experience and investment objectives.
  • Fund products are not the same as time deposits. Funds are investment products and some may involve the use of derivatives.
  • In the worst-case scenario, the value of the fund may be substantially less than the amount you invested (in extreme cases, your investment may become worthless).
  • Investors should not make investment decisions based solely on the information in this article. You should read the offering documents related to the product and learn about the product details, including the risk factors involved.
  • Funds invested in certain markets (for example: emerging markets, commodity markets and small businesses) may involve higher risk and are generally more sensitive to price changes.

Disclaimer

  •  Investment involves risk. Prices of investment products may go up or down. Buying and selling the investment product may incur a loss. Profit is not guaranteed.
  • The information contained herein does not constitute a solicitation to any person to deposit or invest in any of the investment products described in the article.
  • The information contained in this article has not been reviewed by the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission or any other regulatory authorities.
  • The Bank does not guarantee or assume any responsibility for the accuracy or reliability of the information contained herein. The Bank will not assume any responsibility for any losses or damages arisen due to the advice, opinion or statement made in this article under all situations.
  • Unless the speaker explicitly specifies a certain point of view originates from the Bank, the comments represent the view of the speaker only. Comments published in this article are subject to change without prior notice.

饮食要营 股票要盈

饮食要注意营养,相信大家都明白个中道理,香港浸会大学财务及决策系副教授丶投资者教育中心谘询委员会成员麦萃才博士提醒大家,买股票同样要看「盈养」。

「我们选择食品时,要因应身体需要,挑选合适的选择,同样地,我们选择股票,要因应财务需要,挑选适合的企业。」麦萃才以饮食比喻投资。

自上而下选择股份

麦萃才解释,「盈养」为企业的盈利能力,一般来说,盈利愈高,股价表现及派息能力更佳。不过,回报伴随着风险,不同企业的盈利模式不一,「盈养」性质有别,潜在回报与风险不同,大家投资前要想清楚是希望控制风险还是争取回报为主,才选择合适「盈养」的股份。例如防守性股份如公用股,盈利增长不高但一般来说相对较稳定,风险较低,适合风险承受度较低的投资者;相反,增长股如新经济股丶科网股等,它们的盈利增长前景较佳,然而波幅较大,甚至部分时间盈利不进反退,适合追求资本增值的人。

「大家选股时,不妨采用由上而下(Top-Down Approach)的分析方法,该方法放诸世界均通用,且经过长时间的应用仍历久不衰。」麦萃才补充说,由上而下的策略,先从地区着手,选择在上升周期的国家,然后根据经济周期,物色盈利上升周期的行业,最后透过股票分析,挑选合适的企业。他又建议大家,不必墨守港股,还可选择中国A股,甚至可以透过美股ETF投资至世界各地。

例如处于低息周期,房地产信托基金(REITs)租金收入相对银行或债券息率吸引,属于低息时期盈利能力较高的板块,最后便根据派息纪录丶租金增长丶物业组合等选择合适的REITs。

运用比率比较同业

股票分析方法难一概而论,麦萃才认为大家可以先从市盈率(P/E Ratio)丶市帐率(P/B Ratio)及周息率(Dividend Yield)着手。他提醒比率应与同类型公司比较,例如科技股PE高,但不一定不好,要想清楚高P/E是由于盈利(E)增长前景好而股价(P)被炒高,还是因为盈利下跌而拉低股价。前者尚有可考虑追入的空间,后者可免则免。

有些企业可能资产价值高丶盈利波幅较大,如地产股丶金融股等,P/B便是较佳的指标,P/B低于1意即股价(P)相对帐面价值(B)有折让,折让愈大,投资价值一般而言较高。

另外,一些股份如公用股,它们的盈利主要用于派股息,因此股价未必能显着上升,但收股息与股价上升,同样是资产增值的方式,因此,对这类股份来说,周息率则是较佳的指标。

最后,麦萃才总结其选股心得:「选择行业时千万不要『入错行』,必须挑选盈利有增长潜力的板块,而非夕阳行业;选股时,应该选择行内地位较高的竞争者,龙头企业的资金丶技术及销售渠道优势在短时间内较难取代,而且更有能力应对突如其来的风险。」

其他达人分享

责任声明:

对于本文所载资料的准确度或可靠性,本行并无作出保证或承担任何责任。在任何情况下,本行概不就本文的任何建议丶意见或陈述而引至的任何损失或破坏承担任何责任。

除非讲者表明有关观点来自本行,否则有关意见代表该讲者。本文内容所发表的意见,可予修改而毋须另行通知。

重要风险通知
  • 投资决定是由阁下自行作出的,但阁下不应投资在该产品,除非中介人于销售该产品时已向阁下解释经考虑阁下的财务情况丶 投资经验及目标后,该产品是适合阁下的。
  • 基金产品并不相等于定期存款。基金乃投资产品而部份涉及金融衍生工具。
  • 在最坏情况下,基金价值或会大幅地少于您的投资金额(在极端的情况下,您的投资可能会变成没有价值)。
  • 投资者不应只根据本文而作出任何投资决定。阁下应细阅产品有关的销售文件以获知产品详情,包括所涉及的风险因素。
  • 投资于某种市场之基金(例如:新兴市场丶商品市场丶小型企业等)可能会涉及较高风险,并通常对价格变动比较敏感。

责任声明

  • 投资涉及风险。投资产品价格可升可跌。买卖投资产品均可能带来亏损,而不一定可赚取利润。
  • 本文所载资料并不构成招揽任何人作存款或投资于本文所述之任何投资产品。
  • 本文所载内容及资料未经香港证券及期货事务监察委员会或任何监管机构审核。
  • 对于本文所载资料的准确度或可靠性,本行并无作出保证或承担任何责任。在任何情况下,本行概不就本文的任何建议丶意见或陈述而引至的任何损失或破坏承担任何责任。
  • 除非讲者表明有关观点来自本行,否则有关意见代表该讲者。本文内容所发表的意见,可予修改而毋须另行通知。