Reduce Investment Risks with Hedging Strategies

To navigate the rapidly evolving foreign exchange market, the economist Andy Cheuk-Chiu Kwan has always adhered to his investing principle - implementing adequate risk-mitigating measures.

Andy Cheuk-Chiu Kwan holds a number of government positions as well as conducting academic research. He is a member of the Public Affairs Forum of the HKSAR and a member of the Long Term Housing Strategy Steering Committee. Although Kwan has a heavy workload and is physically fit, he believes that taking preventive steps - such as doing more exercise and avoiding unhealthy and junk food - is better than cure when it comes to staying healthy, as these precautionary measures can help to avoid health issues.

Hedge Against Risks with Safe-Haven Currencies

Foreign exchange investing is comparable to maintaining one's health, as both require us to plan ahead for "rainy days", Kwan believes. "Although the foreign exchange market seems calm at the moment, we still need to prepare for rough times by having risk control measures in place. When major market events are looming on the horizon, such as the FOMC meeting and referendums in European countries, even though we cannot foresee the outcomes, we can still contain the impact of such events on our investment portfolios by taking appropriate action to reduce risks."

Risk management tools abound in the investment market. Kwan believes that in the foreign exchange arena, one could first learn to utilise safe-haven currencies, such as the Japanese Yen, Swiss Franc and so on to try to mitigate risks. Whenever the investment landscape turns choppy, these kinds of currencies tend to appreciate, which makes them one of the tools for hedging against risks.

"A case in point is on the eve of the result announcement of the Greek referendum in July in 2015. We were all well aware that the Euro was bound for significant fluctuations. If you were holding Euros and did not want to bear undue risks, you might have considered converting part of your Euro holdings into Japanese Yen. By doing so, you may have been able to offset some of the losses in Euro with gains in Yen, the appreciating safe-haven currency, even if the market situation worsened; on the contrary, if the market remained uneventful and the Euro appreciated, the Yen could still serve as a protection." Hedging is like exercising: while a lack of physical activity does not necessarily make you sick, doing exercise may help you reduce the risks of developing health problems, Kwan says.

Lock In Costs by Making Flexible Use of Margin

Preparing for the overseas education of children is a common purpose for people in need of foreign currencies. Kwan suggests that people could consider using margin to lock in the cost of buying foreign currencies. "Most people think that margin involves a high level of risk, but this may not entirely true. In fact, using margin on foreign exchange investment only requires a low minimum amount of initial capital. You can make use of this tool to suit your own needs, financial situation and level of risk tolerance, and hedge against foreign exchange risks."

Kwan often visits his parents in Canada, and he usually brings some Canadian Dollars (CAD) along with him for daily expenses. The rally in the commodities market a few years ago has propelled a surge in the exchange rate of CAD. Kwan uses this as an example of how we can manage risks with margin: "At that time, CAD1 was equivalent to about HKD6.5. If I considered this exchange rate reasonable for buying in CAD, I could lock in the exchange rate by using margin. Suppose I am using a leverage of 10 times, I will only need to deposit 10% of the contract value to obtain a long exposure in CAD10,000 (that is, to enter a contract of CAD10,000 by depositing CAD1,000 or HKD6,500 equivalent. This represents a bullish view on the exchange rate of CAD against HKD)."

"Assume that, after one year, the exchange rate of CAD rose and CAD1 can buy HKD8, so the gain of the future contract will be able to offset part of the cost of purchasing CAD in the future. If the CAD depreciated, rather than appreciated, to CAD1 to HKD5, the long position of the future contract will incur a loss, but the cost of buying the CAD in the future will be reduced, which can offset the loss. In other words, I can lock in the future price of CAD by entering a margin contract, which costs only one-tenth of the notional amount of the contract." Kwan also advises that investors must consider their own level of risk tolerance when they use margin, and be aware that if the foreign exchange margin contract incurs excessive losses, it may be liquidated prematurely.

Lastly, Kwan reminds us that some major events may also bring large swings to the foreign exchange market. For instance, the US presidential election, the FOMC meeting in the US and etc. The need for sufficient hedging is warranted for consideration, he cautions.

Other Expert Talks

Disclaimers:

The Bank does not provide investment advice. Investment involves risk. The price of stocks may move up or down. Losses may be incurred as well as profits made as a result of buying and selling stocks. Full details of the terms and conditions of the above services are available on request.

The information shown is based on data obtained from sources believed to be reliable but the Bank and the concerned Information Provider(s) make no representation and accept no responsibility as to its accuracy or completeness and shall not be held liable for damages arising out of any person's reliance upon this information. This information is neither a recommendation, an offer to sell, nor solicitation of an offer to purchase any investment.

Important Risk Warning
  • You are responsible for your own investment decisions. You should not invest in a certain product unless the intermediary who sells the product has clearly explained to you the suitability of the product with regard to your financial situation, investment experience and investment objectives.
  • Fund products are not the same as time deposits. Funds are investment products and some may involve the use of derivatives.
  • In the worst-case scenario, the value of the fund may be substantially less than the amount you invested (in extreme cases, your investment may become worthless).
  • Investors should not make investment decisions based solely on the information in this article. You should read the offering documents related to the product and learn about the product details, including the risk factors involved.
  • Funds invested in certain markets (for example: emerging markets, commodity markets and small businesses) may involve higher risk and are generally more sensitive to price changes.

Disclaimer

  • Investment involves risk. Prices of investment products may go up or down. Buying and selling the investment product may incur a loss. Profit is not guaranteed.
  • The information contained herein does not constitute a solicitation to any person to deposit or invest in any of the investment products described in the article.
  • The information contained in this article has not been reviewed by the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission or any other regulatory authorities.
  • The Bank does not guarantee or assume any responsibility for the accuracy or reliability of the information contained herein. The Bank will not assume any responsibility for any losses or damages arisen due to the advice, opinion or statement made in this article under all situations.
  • Unless the speaker explicitly specifies a certain point of view originates from the Bank, the comments represent the view of the speaker only. Comments published in this article are subject to change without prior notice.

避险要够「冲」

外汇市场变化迅速,经济学者关焯照一直铭记投资的原则,就是要有足够的避险措施。

除了学术研究外,关焯照还担任多项公职,包括香港特别行政区公共事务论坛成员和长远房屋策略督导委员会。他表示工作繁重,即使身体没有毛病,亦要有避无患,例如多做运动丶少食无益的煎炸食物等,避免身体出现问题。

避险货币对冲风险

他认为外汇市场与身体一样,都需要学会未雨绸缪:「外汇市场投资,即使暂时看似风平浪静,但同样需要做好准备控制风险。当市场即将有重大事件,如联储局议息丶欧洲国家公投等,即使我们不能预测结果,但做足避险措施,便可以控制对投资组合的影响。」

投资市场上避险的工具众多,关焯照认为在外汇市场上,需要先学会运用避险货币,例如日圆丶瑞士法郎等,每当投资市场风高浪急,该类货币的汇价往往反而上升,因此可以用作对冲风险。

「例如2015年7月希腊公投结果即将出炉时,大家知道欧元将大幅波动,手上又持有欧元时,假设不想过度承受风险,便可以考虑选择将手上部分欧元转为日圆。即使之后市场恶化,避险货币日圆上升的利润,或可以抵销部份欧元的损失;相反,如果有惊无险,欧元上升,日圆就当作『买个保障』。」 他又笑言,对冲就好像不做运动未必一定生病,但做运动有机会降低生病的风险机会。

活用孖展锁定成本

不少人需要准备外币,为子女海外留学作准备。关焯照认为,大家可以考虑用保证金(即孖展)锁定买入外币的成本:「不少人一听到孖展就认为是高风险,实际上以偏概全。外汇孖展入场费低,可因应个人需要丶财政状况丶可承受风险等加以善用,反以有机会可以对冲外汇的风险。」

关焯照不时会到加拿大探望父母,顺便带一些加元作生活费。几年前商品市场兴旺,带动加元的汇价走强,他举例如何以孖展控制风险:「当时1加元兑约6.5港元,我认为该价位值得买入,便可以透过锁定该价位,假设用10倍杠杆,只需运用一成作按金去持有10,000加元的长仓(即以1,000加元或6,500港元等值去持有10,000加元的合同 — 看好加元兑港元走势)。」

「假如之后一年,加元升至1兑8港元,合约上的收益会被未来买入加元的成本所抵销,假如加元不升反跌,降至1兑5港元,固然长仓合同上有亏损,不过未来买入加元的成本则降低,可抵销该损失,换言之,我能够透过孖展合约去锁定未来实际购买加元时的价位,其成本亦只需该金额的十分之一。」关焯照又强调,大家运用孖展时,必须留意个人承受风险的能力,以及在外汇孖展合同上若出现过多亏损时,可能导致斩仓的处理。

最后,他提及重大事件如美国大选及美国联储局议息等,结果或可令外汇市场大幅波动,提醒大家可考虑做好对冲措施。

其他达人分享

责任声明:

对于本文所载资料的准确度或可靠性,本行并无作出保证或承担任何责任。在任何情况下,本行概不就本文的任何建议丶意见或陈述而引至的任何损失或破坏承担任何责任。

除非讲者表明有关观点来自本行,否则有关意见代表该讲者。本文内容所发表的意见,可予修改而毋须另行通知。

重要风险通知
  • ​投资决定是由阁下自行作出的,但阁下不应投资在该产品,除非中介人于销售该产品时已向阁下解释经考虑阁下的财务情况丶 投资经验及目标后,该产品是适合阁下的。
  • 基金产品并不相等于定期存款。基金乃投资产品而部份涉及金融衍生工具。
  • 在最坏情况下,基金价值或会大幅地少于您的投资金额(在极端的情况下,您的投资可能会变成没有价值)。
  • 投资者不应只根据本文而作出任何投资决定。阁下应细阅产品有关的销售文件以获知产品详情,包括所涉及的风险因素。
  • 投资于某种市场之基金(例如:新兴市场丶商品市场丶小型企业等)可能会涉及较高风险,并通常对价格变动比较敏感。

责任声明

  • 投资涉及风险。投资产品价格可升可跌。买卖投资产品均可能带来亏损,而不一定可赚取利润。
  • 本文所载资料并不构成招揽任何人作存款或投资于本文所述之任何投资产品。
  • 本文所载内容及资料未经香港证券及期货事务监察委员会或任何监管机构审核。
  • 对于本文所载资料的准确度或可靠性,本行并无作出保证或承担任何责任。在任何情况下,本行概不就本文的任何建议丶意见或陈述而引至的任何损失或破坏承担任何责任。
  • 除非讲者表明有关观点来自本行,否则有关意见代表该讲者。本文内容所发表的意见,可予修改而毋须另行通知。